Skip To The Main Content

In This Section

New England Law | Boston has upheld a legacy of revolution, evolution, and excellence for more than a century. Explore our timeline to discover how.
Members of the graduating class of 1939 (courtesy of the Boston Public Library).

1908: Portia Law School is founded as the only law school in the country exclusively for women.

1923: Blanche Braxton ’21 becomes the first African American woman to be admitted to the Massachusetts bar.

1938: Portia Law School becomes coeducational as men begin attending.

1962: Margaret H. Bauer, a graduate of Portia Law School, becomes its first female dean.

1965: The first edition of the Portia Law Journal launches. Today, the journal is the New England Law Review.

1969: The American Bar Association grants accreditation to Portia Law School (renamed New England School of Law).

1973: William O. Douglas is the first of seven Supreme Court justices to visit New England Law.

1980: New England School of Law moves to expanded facilities.

1990: The Charles Hamilton Houston Enrichment Program is established to address racial bias, promote law school diversity, and provide a supportive community for minority students.

1997: New England School of Law is a founding member of the Consortium for Innovative Legal Education, Inc.

1998: New England School of Law becomes a member of the Association of American Law Schools.

2008: Our second century begins with a new name: New England Law | Boston.

2014: New England Law | Boston launches concentrations in two growing fields—Immigration Law and Intellectual Property (IP) Law.