Skip to Main Content Return to the New England Law | Boston home page

States Requiring Early Law Student Registration

The following states require that law students register for the bar exam as early as the first semester of their first year of law school. Students who miss the early registration deadlines in these states may end up paying expensive late registration fees.

State or Jurisdiction

Law Student Registration Fee

Early Registration Requirement

Alabama

$0 - $250

Within 60 days of starting law school.

California

$108

Within 90 days of starting law school.

Florida

$100 - $400

By January 15 of first year of law school.  Fee increases after January 15.

Iowa

$40

By January 15 of first year of law school.  Fee increases after January 15.

Louisiana

$25
Plus NCBE report fee

During the fall semester of second year of law school.

Mississippi

$125

By October 1 of second year of law school.

Missouri

$200

This registration is for early determination of character and fitness. If the Application for Character and Fitness Report, Authorization and Release and the corresponding fee are filed by the first June 30 after you begin law school, you qualify for a reduced application fee. Submitting an Application for Character and Fitness does NOT register you to take the bar. examination. You must submit an Application for Bar Examination in your final semester of law school in order to register for the bar examination.

 

North Dakota

$200

By October 1 of second year of law school, or 14 months after the first day of first year of law school. Law student registration begins the character and fitness investigation.

 

Ohio

$75

Plus NCBE report fee

By November 15 of second year of law school the Application to Register as a Candidate for Admission to the Practice of Law should be filed. See Section 2, Preliminary Registration Requirements on the website.

 

Oklahoma

$125

Plus NCBE report fee

By October 15 of second year of law school.